Skip to main content

Finalists 2019


Congratulations to everyone who submitted a nomination or was nominated by someone for a Baton Award 2019. We received an overwhelming response and our esteemed judging panels have had the awe-inspiring (and challenging!) task of reviewing hundreds of remarkable applications over the last couple of months.

It’s been hard to whittle it down to just three finalists in each category, but without further ado, we’d like to announce who’s in the running to win at The Baton Awards 2019: celebrating BAME women of Past, Present and Future.

Campaigner of the year

Phyllis Akua Opoku
Mansata Kurang
Amal Azzudin

Creative Industry

Winsome Duncan
Enam Gbowonyo
Jeanette Young

Entrepreneur of the Year

Sandy Idigbe
Lisa Dosu
Hither Mann

Excellence in Media

Zeinab Badawi
Marcia Dixon
Elizabeth Pears

International BAME woman

Nawaal El-Saadawi
Sonita Alizadeh
Mabeh Fang

Lord Hastings

Juliet Coley Bremmer
Foluke Akinsole
Claudine Adeyemi

Political Figure

Cllr Anna Rothery
Asher Craig
Ruth Ibegbuna

Professional Services

Nina Quarshie
Irvinder Goodhew
Sarah Chitongo

Services to Education

Eartha Pond
Cristalina Fernandes
Muna Abdi

Special Founders Award- Against All Odds

Serena Nalty-Coombes
Kare Adenegan
Pavan Amara


Dina Asher Smith
Francesca Brown
Aditi Chauhan

STEM trailblazer

Leslie Sarango Romero
Justine Lesforis
Roma Agrawal MBE

Third Sector

Mickela Hall Ramsay
Isatou Ceesay
June Ross MBE

Thought Leader

Genevieve Leveille
Sharoo Izadi
Claudine Reid MBE

Join us at The House of Lords ceremony and be a part of history as we celebrate BAME women of Past, Present and Future


For General Enquiries:

For media Enquiries:

For Sponsorship Enquiries:

Social Media:

Twitter @BatonAwards
Instagram @TheBatonAwards

Telephone: 0203 743 2566